Reviews



by Linda Tonis
of Paranormal Romance Guild
www.paranormalromanceguild.com

[Note: The following is a snippet from a larger review. To read the full article, please visit http://www.paranormalromanceguild.com/reviewsscarlettamari.htm.]


5*****Stars
Book:  Saurimonde
Authors:  Scarlett Amaris and Melissa St. Hilaire
Publisher:  Createspace
Genre:  Erotic/Horror/Fantasy
Rating:  Mature

Saurimonde made the mistake so many other women make. She married a man who showed small outbursts of anger. She was sure that she could handle it and ignored all the warnings, until that temper came out in full after her marriage.  Gilles her husband beats her for any little infraction. The last time he resorted to violence he nearly choked her to death.

Since her husband is the lord and master of their village, there is nowhere and no one to go for help. She is trapped in a relationship she is sure will eventually kill her.  The only thing that gives her any peace is painting. On one of her trips to the lake to paint, she meets a man.  This man refuses to give his real name. She calls him Pan, and he calls her Erato.  Meeting him is like a dream and she wants to pursue it.  She has longed for love. Maybe she has finally found it.  However, we all know dreams can very easily turn into nightmares, and this one does.

It doesn't take long for Gilles to figure out that something is different with his wife and when he follows her he finds her and Pan in the throes of passion.  Death for her would be too simple. He visits a woman, Elazki, known for her potions.  He wants to punish Saurimonde and forces Elazki to give him something.  What she gives him is a potion left to her by a necromancer. She has no idea what it will really do.  Elazki and the necromancer have an interesting past, one I will not discuss in this review.

(Read more here: http://www.paranormalromanceguild.com/reviewsscarlettamari.htm.)


July 23, 2013
by Meg
of Novel Grounds
novelgrounds.com

[Note: The following is a snippet from a larger review. To read the full article, please visit novelgrounds.com/saurimonde-by-scarlett-amaris-melissa-st-hilaire. (Thanks, Meg!)]


SAURIMONDE
by Scarlett Amaris & Melissa St. Hilaire
3.5/4 Stars

This book took me through the loops. I was so hopeful for Saurimonde in the beginning, and well you see how that goes right from the synopsis. Her life is a tale of hurt and sorrow.

As you will see her life after “death” is one of erotic love and vicious endings to the days she is forced to spend in the forest where she was left by her horrible excuse for a husband. The days go by and the people of the village keep disappearing.

The way this story twists I was on edge with what was coming next. I really didn’t see the ending coming. It caught me and I was actually super excited with some of the turns it took. With this type of a story you need to be kept interested and it definitely did its job there. It was also a very original story. It wasn’t one of those stories that you unknowingly compare to a similar in the genre. It was the type that you went in blind with what was coming next. Loved it.

The writing was great. It took a bit to draw me in, but once it did I really didn’t have trouble with it. The characters were well developed and you got a great picture of the era and the life styles you were dealing with. :) A great quick read for anyone. Mythics, romance, suspense, mystery all tied into one.

(Read more here: http://novelgrounds.com/saurimonde-by-scarlett-amaris-melissa-st-hilaire/.)

AMAZON REVIEWS

Saurimonde II:


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! A must read!April 20, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saurimonde II (Kindle Edition)
A great sequel to Saurimonde. I love the new characters,the darkly sensual feel of this book and the plot twist! Can't wait for the third book!
A must read for the avid fantasy/romance follower.

5.0 out of 5 stars which I very much enjoyed, "Saurimonde II" has more depthMarch 16, 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saurimonde II (Volume 2) (Paperback)
Compared with the first book, which I very much enjoyed, "Saurimonde II" has more depth, there is much more going on and the characters are showing their real faces.
Right at the beginning of the book, I was again completely absorbed by the characters and the environment in which the story takes place.
Highly recommended!!

5.0 out of 5 stars Five StarsFebruary 28, 2015
This review is from: Saurimonde II (Volume 2) (Paperback)
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent sequel to the darkly sensual SaurimondeFebruary 25, 2015
This review is from: Saurimonde II (Volume 2) (Paperback)
An excellent sequel to the darkly sensual Saurimonde, a gripping page turner, filled with dark magic, a heroine to fall in love with and a twisted plot which leaves you with a need to know more......

Saurimonde I:


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for avid fans of horror/fantasy! Can't ...April 20, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saurimonde (Paperback)
A must read for avid fans of horror/fantasy! Can't wait for book two so I can learn more about these charactors!

4.0 out of 5 stars A Dark Fairy TaleJanuary 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saurimonde (Paperback)
A thoroughly enjoyable dark, carnal fairy tale. A sensuous golden fantasy in the daylight, that turns into a demonic nightmare when the sun goes down.

5.0 out of 5 stars An erotic, supernatural page turner!November 18, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saurimonde (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book. The style was very refreshing and new for me. It’s a real page turner, because once I had started, I couldn’t stop reading! A great, exciting tale. There is also a nice balance between the erotic and the supernatural and I recommend it to anyone who would have the guts to read it!

4.0 out of 5 stars Seductive and then someAugust 21, 2013
This review is from: Saurimonde (Paperback)
With Saurimonde being my first taste of the dark fantasy/horror/paranormal romance genre--I couldn't resist the taunting dare in the blurb--I cannot compare it to similar works. So this review is not that of an "expert" but of a casual passerby, lured by other common causes with one of the authors, Scarlett Amaris, and an abiding curiosity about books that fall, however loosely, into the wide spectrum of literature that might be classified as "visionary fiction." The stylized Playboy cover with its promise of titillation, I admit, also helped me, an older male with otherwise less flamboyant reading habits, open the door and walk into the authors' foreboding den of dreamy fairytale, explicit sexuality, and shudder-inducing evil perpetrated not only by Gilles, an over-the-top caricature of the domineering and lecherous husband, but also by the beautiful and sensual Saurimonde, of whom we'd least expect such.

First observation: it's a page turner. While I often struggle through the last hour of the day allotted to reading, evenings with Saurimonde always shot right past my bedtime. Perhaps it was a combination of the story's surface simplicity, the breezy language (the use of modern slang in a medieval setting did take some adjustment), and lavish imagination that propelled me into that magical zone beyond the ticking clock.

But beyond the entertainment and stimulation provided by the strong dose of sex and mayhem, there was a subtle sense of something a lot deeper. However, unlike some books in which the intended message is made annoyingly explicit--You, dear reader, are likely too dumb to get it right, so I'm going to spell it out for you--Saurimonde just left me wondering. My imagination was awakened to fantastic possibilities on several levels, not unlike the effect of the timeless classical fairy tale, the prototype for all visionary fiction. Now that's pretty high magic for any book to achieve. Highly recommended--if you dare.

4.0 out of 5 stars A real adventure into a fantasy worldAugust 4, 2013
This review is from: Saurimonde (Paperback)
This book took me through the loops. I was so hopeful for Saurimonde in the beginning, and well you see how that goes right from the synopsis. Her life is a tale of hurt and sorrow.

As you will see her life after "death" is one of erotic love and vicious endings to the days she is forced to spend in the forest where she was left by her horrible excuse for a husband. The days go by and the people of the village keep disappearing.

The way this story twists I was on edge with what was coming next. I really didn't see the ending coming. It caught me and I was actually super excited with some of the turns it took. With this type of a story you need to be kept interested and it definitely did its job there. It was also a very original story. It wasn't one of those stories that you unknowingly compare to a similar in the genre. It was the type that you went in blind with what was coming next. Loved it.

The writing was great. It took a bit to draw me in, but once it did I really didn't have trouble with it. The characters were well developed and you got a great picture of the era and the life styles you were dealing with. A great quick read for anyone. Mythics, romance, suspense, mystery all tied into one.

5.0 out of 5 stars Saurimonde - an esoteric fantasyJune 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saurimonde (Paperback)
A fast paced erotic/horror novel, a suspenseful 'page-turner'.The beautiful and alluring Saurimonde is trapped in a love-starved marriage with the controlling and abusive nobleman, Gilles.Despair leads her to betray her marriage vows with a beautiful, Pan-like, young man. The consequences are demonic....... As in the tales of Algernon Blackwood, the authors have imbued aspects of the landscape with 'personality' and a sense of 'imminent consiousness'. In this case, it is the river, the location where much of the drama is focussed - a river which has a soft,sensuous feminity which masks dark,dangerous undercurrents.The descriptions of demonic trickery will be recognised by those readers who have first-hand knowlege of the denizens of the Goeteia. Those who know how the demonic may feed off sexual energy and disguise itself under a glamour of sensual beauty. Written in a fast-paced 21st century literary style, "Saurimonde" is an unmissable read for the modern-day occultist and fans of the horror/magical fantasy genre.

4.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, Sensual, MagicMay 10, 2013
By 
This review is from: Saurimonde (Kindle Edition)
This is a rare literary treat for fans of the supernatural and the erotic. More typical in this genre is to see pedestrian writing and tired ideas. Not with SAURIMONDE. The authors have nailed a precise balance between pristine, literary elegance and taut, page-turning excitement. It's unusual to see a work so dense with language yet so fleet and focused. A grand synthesis of deep intelligence mixed with pure sensual and sensory pleasure.

Experience this realm for yourself.